The Best Fitness & Wellness Company New Navratan , Bhuwana
Call Now Toll Free : 1800 103 0248

What Is Yoga ?

    • What is Yoga On Beach ?
    • What is yoga?

    Yoga is a mind and body practice with a 5,000-year history in ancient Indian philosophy. Various styles of it combine physical postures, breathing techniques, and meditation or relaxation.

    • History of yoga

    There is no written record of the inventor of it.

    Male it practitioners are known as “Yogis” & female it practitioners are called “Yoginis”.

    it is well known for its postures and poses, but they were not a key part of original it traditions in India. Fitness was not a primary goal. Practitioners and followers of yogic tradition focused instead on other practices, such as expanding spiritual energy using breathing methods and mental focus.


    • Philosophy of it

    The main philosophy of yoga is simple: mind, body, and spirit are all one and cannot be clearly separated. Yet there is a multitude of philosophical ideas developed by looking into the deeper dimensions of the body, mind and spirit.

    1. Hatha yoga: This is the physical and mental branch designed to prime the body and mind.
    2. Raja yoga: This branch involves meditation and strict adherence to a series of disciplinary steps known as the “eight limbs” of it.
    3. Karma yoga: This is a path of service that aims to create a future free from negativity and selfishness.
    4. Bhakti yoga: This aims to establish the path of devotion, a positive way to channel emotions and cultivate acceptance and tolerance.
    5. Jnana yoga: This branch of yoga is about wisdom, the path of the scholar, and developing the intellect through study.
    6. Tantra yoga: This is the pathway of ritual, ceremony, or consummation of a relationship.


    • Chakras

    The word “chakra” literally means the spinning wheel.

    Yoga maintains that chakras are center points of energy, thoughts, feelings, and the physical body.

    There are seven major chakras, each with their own focus:

    1. Sahasrara: The “thousand-petaled” or “crown” chakra represents the state of pure consciousness. This chakra is located at the crown of the head, and the color white or violet represents it. Sahasrara involves matters of inner wisdom and physical death.
    2. Ajna: The “command” or “third-eye chakra” is a meeting point between two important energetic streams in the body. Ajna corresponds to the colors violet, indigo, or deep blue, though traditional yoga practitioners describe it as white. The ajna chakra relates to the pituitary gland, which drives growth and development.
    3. Vishuddha: The color red or blue represents the “especially pure” or “throat” chakra. Practitioners consider this chakra to be the home of speech, hearing, and metabolism.
    4. Anahata: The “unstruck” or “heart” chakra relates to the colors green and pink. Key issues involving anahata include complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection, and wellbeing.
    5. Manipura: Yellow represents the “jewel city” or “navel” chakra. Practitioners connect this chakra with the digestive system, as well as personal power, fear, anxiety, developing opinions, and tendencies towards an introverted personality.
    6. Svadhishthana: Practitioners claim that the “one’s own base” or “pelvic” chakra is the home of the reproductive organs, the genitourinary system, and the adrenal gland.
    7. Muladhara: The “root support” or “root chakra” is at the base of the spine in the coccygeal region. It is said to contain our natural urges relating to food, sleep, sex, and survival, as well as the source of avoidance and fear.



    • Type of it

    There are many styles of it , and no style is more authentic or superior to another. The key is to choose a class appropriate for your fitness level.

    Types and styles of it may include:

    1. Ashtanga yoga: This type of yoga uses ancient yoga teachings. However, it became popular during the 1970s. Ashtanga applies six established sequences of postures that rapidly link every movement to breathe.
    2. Bikram yoga: Also known as “hot” it , Bikram occurs in artificially heated rooms at temperatures of nearly 105 degrees and 40 percent humidity. It consists of 26 poses and a sequence of two breathing exercises.
    3. Hatha yoga: This is a generic term for any type of yoga that teaches physical postures. “Hatha” classes usually serve as a gentle introduction to the basic yoga postures.
    4. Iyengar yoga: This type focuses on finding the correct alignment in each pose using a range of props, such as blocks, blankets, straps, chairs, and bolsters.
    5. Jivamukti yoga: Jivamukti means “liberation while living.” This type emerged in 1984 and incorporates spiritual teachings and practices that focus on the fast-paced flow between poses rather than the poses themselves.

    This focus is called vinyasa. Each class has a theme, which is explored through yoga scripture, chanting, meditation, asana, pranayama, and music. Jivamukti yoga can be physically intense.

    1. Kripalu yoga: This type teaches practitioners to know, accept, and learn from the body. A student of Kripalu learns to find their own level of practice by looking inward. The classes usually begin with breathing exercises and gentle stretches, followed by a series of individual poses and final relaxation.
    2. Kundalini yoga: Kundalini means “coiled, like a snake.” Kundalini it is a system of meditation that aims to release pent-up energy.

    A class typically begins with chanting and ends with singing. In between, it features asana, pranayama, and meditation customized to create a specific outcome.

    1. Power yoga: In the late 1980s, practitioners developed this active and athletic type of it, based on the traditional ashtanga system.
    2. Sivananda: This is a system based on a five-point philosophy. This philosophy maintains that proper breathing, relaxation, diet, exercise, and positive thinking work together to form a healthy yogic lifestyle. Typically uses the same 12 basic asanas, bookended by sun salutations and savasana poses.
    3. Viniyoga: Viniyoga can adapt to any person, regardless of physical ability. Viniyoga teachers require in-depth training and tend to be experts on anatomy and it therapy.
    4. Yin: This is a quiet, meditative it practice, also called Taoist it . Yin yoga allows the release of tension in key joints, including:
    • the ankles
    • knees
    • hips
    • the whole back
    • neck
    • shoulders

    Yin poses are passive, meaning that gravity shoulders most of the force and effort.

    1. Prenatal yoga: Prenatal it uses postures that practitioners have designed for people who are pregnant. It can support people in getting back into shape after pregnancy as well as supporting health during pregnancy.
    2. Restorative yoga: This is a relaxing method of it. A person spends a restorative it class in four or five simple poses, using props like blankets and bolsters to sink into deep relaxation without exerting any effort in holding the pose.


    ·   Risks and side effects

    it is low-impact and safe for people when a well-trained instructor is guiding the practice.

    Injury due to it is an infrequent barrier to continued practice, and severe injury due to it is rare. However, consider a few factors before starting.

    Anyone who is pregnant or who has an on-going medical condition, such as high blood pressureglaucoma, or sciatica, should talk to their healthcare practitioner before practicing it. They may need to alter or avoid some it poses.

    Beginners should avoid extreme poses and difficult techniques, such as headstand, lotus position, and forceful breathing.